As I watched a 2-0 Hawks lead quickly turn into a 5-2 deficit and a 5-4 final score, I couldnt help but notice the similarities between this current Hawks teams goaltending issues and Rex Grossman and the Bears circa 2006.
Cristobal Huet is a headcase. How he continuously can make the big sportcenter highlight save on a breakaway or in a shootout but then pisses in his pants whenever there is traffic in front of the net is beyond me.
Lets compare the similarites...
Huet in Goal vs Grossman at QB
Huet is a headcase who keeps sports shrinks in biz in this down economy. Grossman was the same way and you can see it in thier eyes and hear it in thier interviews.
They both play (or played) on a team with hands down the BEST defense in the league. That strength in both cases covers the glaring weakness over the first half of the season and eventually the issue builds and builds.
The stats dont look bad, in fact can be skewed to look good. Yeah, Huet winning percentage is great but if the Hawks only give up 15-20 shots and he gives up 2 in a 4-2 win where the Hawks put 30 shots on goal, is he doing his job? What about come playoff time when the other team (much like the Wings yesterday), will put up 25-30 shots. Remember how Lovie steadfastly supported Grossman as the QB play was falling apart?? THen Grossman throws the pick in the 4th q of the SB cementing his place in history as possibly the worst starting QB in the history of the SB... well, him and Tony Eason.
Both teams have young vibrant playmakers. Remember Devin Hesters rookie year? THe year he set a NFL record for TD returns? The year he returned the opening kick in the SB for a TD? Think Kane, Toews, etc. The big difference here is that Im confident if the Hawks lose in the playoffs they will address the issue in the offseason and not stick with "Stay the course".
Most noticable to me was yesterday. As the season went on the Bears were placed in more Natl TV situations. Same for the Hawks yesterday and next Sunday and again in a few weeks. What happens on this national TV game??? The teams glaring weakness gets immediately exposed to the world.
It was about 80% through the season then that Bears fans were calling for Griese even with the Bears firmly entrenched as a team with a chance to go the distance.
Alas, I am left knowing our best option is to stick it out with Niemi. A rookie in goal. He has never played a playoff game but Huet has never won a playoff series. I know what I have with Huet and this headcase wont make it through a stanley cup game without daily confirmations...your good enough, your smart enough and doggonit, people like you....just not me.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment